Pastry chef Gabriella Adeline from Lindfield has taken out the Vocational Student of the Year award at the 2021 Annual NSW Training Awards.

Member for Davidson, Jonathan O’Dea, said Gabriella has made her community proud.

“Gabriella’s biggest achievement was being selected for the Australian Pastry World Cup Team, where she’ll represent Australia at a global competition in Milan,” Mr O’Dea said.

“This award is testament to Gabriella’s hard work and she has made our community proud being selected as the best in the State.”

Gabriella said she first graduated from university with a psychology degree but decided to start training as a pastry chef at TAFE NSW.

“I knew I was on the right track when I explored how to become a pastry chef at TAFE NSW,” Gabriella said.

Woodcut restaurant, Crown Hotel Barangaroo

“I have been taught by TAFE teachers who are industry experts and have given me career guidance, put me forward for opportunities and encouraged me to excel.

“I’ve now completed my apprenticeship and I have a great job at a two-hatted restaurant. VET has changed my life. I’ve found my purpose,” the Lindfield pastry chef said.

NSW Minister for Skills and Tertiary Education Geoff Lee congratulated Gabriella on receiving the prestigious award after completing her Certificate IV in Patisserie at TAFE NSW leading to a job at Bondi’s Icebergs Dining Room and Bar. She has since gone on to land a job at new restaurant Woodcut at the Crown Hotel Barangaroo.

“It is a great honour to be recognised on a State level and I have no doubt Gabriella will go on to be a great ambassador for vocational education and training in the hospitality industry,” Mr Lee said.

“The students, educators and training providers represented at the NSW Training awards are living proof that NSW’s training system is gold standard.

“I congratulate Gabriella on being named NSW Vocational Student of the Year and wish her the best when he represents NSW at the Australian Training Awards.”

The NSW Training Awards are conducted annually by the NSW Department of Education in recognition of outstanding achievements in VET. A full list of winners is available at

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top